Mechanipus (Linode) downtime


  • Coder

    Linode is scheduling all machines for downtime to address new Xen
    vulnerabilities. This mean reboot:

    kuu.mechanipus.com
    2015-10-22 5:00:00 AM UTC, aka
    2015-10-21 10:00:00 PM PDT, aka
    2016-10-22 1:00:00 AM EDT, aka
    "Wednesday night"

    kuramori.mechanipus.com
    2015-10-22 7:00:00 AM UTC, aka
    2015-10-22 12:00:00 AM PDT, aka
    2015-10-22 3:00:00 AM EDT, aka
    "Wednesday night"

    Outage windows are scheduled at two hours, but may be considerably
    less. These machines should automatically restart and most games
    should shutdown before and autostart afterward correctly without any
    additional details.

    If you have problems, please don't panic. I'll be traveling for work
    and mostly inaccessible until late Thursday evening-- possibly Friday.

    See http://status.linode.com/incidents/ltchxw3jmx0s for "more" information.


  • Coder

    Remember, this is tonight; 18 hours to go for kuu and 20 hours for kuramori.



  • NooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    (This helmet is chafing my eyebrows! I swear!)



  • That was fast. It appears to be back up.


  • Coder

    @Derp said:

    That was fast. It appears to be back up.

    Yay. When things work right, it goes pretty fast. The big problem I have is when people log in and move stuff around but don't update the shell cron @reboot line to point to their game.

    Everything on kuu (空, Sky) that should be running is running; kuramori (暗森, Dark forest) is mostly back except for one game and they're better off starting that one themselves.

    Midori (緑, Green) was recently rebooted for various assorted (or sordid) updates, and doesn't actually host games, so that's fine too.

    And I'm heading to the airport in another 90 minutes to head home. woot!


  • Coder

    I need to come up with a way for the game to wait for mysql to be up before restarting. Hm.


  • Coder

    @Thenomain Well. My mechanipus branch of tinymux will auto-reconnect sql as needed... see
    this commit if you want to try it in isolation...

    Otherwise, set up a ~/.my.cnf file with something like:

    [client]
    user=gamename
    password=...
    database=gamename
    

    and then a ~/wait-for-sql.sh like:

    #! /bin/bash
    while ! echo 'select distinct "sql is up";' |mysql; do sleep 1; done
    

    and then be sure to set it executable

    $ chmod 755 wait-for-sql.sh
    

    and then edit your crontab (cron -e) to have something like:

    @reboot wait-for-sql.sh && cd /home/mush/gamename/game && ./Startmux
    

    or if you're on my fork something like

    @reboot wait-for-sql.sh && cd /home/mush/gamename/game && bin/mux-start
    

    menacing helpfulness intensifies


 

Looks like your connection to MU Soapbox was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.